Tag Archives: Hugh Jackson

Stakes Honor Influential Builders at ASD

[caption id="attachment_12514" align="alignright" width="1000"] Buffy Twins & Hugh Jackson. 1981 Winnipeg Futurity.[/caption] by Bob Gates R. C. Anderson, Frank Arnason, Jack Hardy, Phil Kives, R. J. Speers, J. W. Sifton and Hazel Wright make up the collective of builders that are remembered through memorial stake races in 2020 at Assiniboia Downs. There have been others…
Read more

Merry’s Jay: Lord of Avondale and the Toast of Manitoba

  [caption id="attachment_2513" align="alignright" width="270" caption="Merry's Jay wins 1976 Manitoba Derby."][/caption] First Manitoba-bred ever to win the Manitoba Derby by Bob In 1976 Merry’s Jay won the Harry Jeffrey Stakes. Eight days later he became the first Manitoba-bred ever to win our own Manitoba Derby. Only two other horses have won the Harry Jeffrey Stakes…
Read more